Jump to main content
7 June 2021, Barney McGonigle

A round-up of the latest schools’ rugby action, by Ulster Schools’ PRO, Barney McGonigle…

Foyle and Londonderry College and Limavady Grammar School played a controlled Medallion game at the excellent Foyle College pitches on Tuesday 1st June.

With both schools having completed their Return-to-Play protocols when the players were involved in skills, decision making and fitness development in their respective schools, it was felt the time was right to take things to the next stage and play out a controlled games scenario.

Both schools used extended squads with all the players getting a considerable amount of pitch time. The game was played at up to 12-a-side over 4 x 15-minute sessions with uncontested scrums and lineouts. The game was played in a great spirit and flowed from end to end. All the players involved displayed great skills, commitment and physicality which was commendable considering they had not played any rugby in the past fourteen months.

The Foyle College points came through tries from Robert Rankin, Andrew Donnell and Cahir McKay with Rhys Gillen displaying tremendous accuracy off the tee.

The Limavady Grammar School team started strongly with players such as Arlen Magee and Odhran Clenaghan impressing. The visitors scored their points through Jamie Carmichael, Odhran Clenaghan, Ethan Mullan and Thomas O’Connor.

Everyone involved thoroughly enjoyed the occasion and both coaches agreed it was great to see their players representing their schools, taking pride in the jersey, and playing the game with smiles on their faces.

Foyle and Londonderry College squad: –

Coach – David Barnett

Robert Rankin, Nathaniel Reid, Robbie Patterson, Andrew Donnell, Sam Pollin,

James Kelly, Curtis Hodgson, Ben Houston, Cahir McKay, Jack Craig,

Rhys Gillen, Jay Scott, James Benbow, Adam Miller, Jack Kennedy, Peter Miller.

Limavady Grammar School squad: –

Coach – Brian Hughes

Jack Butcher, Arlen Magee, Thomas O’Connor, Daniel White, Ethan Mullan,

Odhran Clenaghan, Callum Watts, Cooper McCausland, Conor Jones, Jamie Carmichael,

Freddie Gault, Fintan McIvor, Jack Toner, Ethan Montgomery, Matthew Donnell,

Leo Collins, Callum Gilpin, Calum McDonnell.