Jump to main content
3 December 2020

Ulster prop Eric O’Sullivan is in line to make his international debut as he has been named among the Ireland replacements for Saturday’s Guinness Series finale in the Autumn Nations Cup versus Scotland at Aviva Stadium.

The 25-year-old graduate of the Ulster Academy has been in excellent form recently, featuring in all of Ulster’s first seven fixtures this season before being called up to join the national squad.

O’Sullivan burst on the scene for Ulster in 2018/19, making his debut in the season opener against Scarlets before going on to make 26 appearances in 30 games throughout that campaign. He has gone on to amass more than 50 caps for the province in just over two years.

O’Sullivan’s Ulster team-mates Rob Herring, Iain Henderson and Jacob Stockdale have all been included in the starting XV as Ireland aim to finish the campaign on a high against Scotland.

Johnny Sexton returns to captain the side and is re-united with Conor Murray at half-back. Robbie Henshaw also returns to line out at outside centre with his old provincial partner Bundee Aki at inside centre.

The back three is unchanged from last weekend’s win over Georgia, with Stockdale at fullback and Keith Earls and Hugo Keenan on the wings.

Up front, Cian Healy packs down alongside Herring and Andrew Porter. James Ryan and Henderson continue in the second row and the back row is made up of Peter O’Mahony, CJ Stander and Caelan Doris.

O’Sullivan is joined on the replacements bench by Ronan Kelleher, John Ryan, Quinn Roux and Josh van Der Flier, while Jamison Gibson Park, Ross Byrne and Chris Farrell provide the back line cover.

Ireland Team & Replacements (v Scotland, 2020 Guinness Series & Autumn Nations Cup, Aviva Stadium, Saturday, December 5, kick-off 2:15 pm, live on RTÉ and Amazon Prime (UK only)):

Player/Club/Province/Caps –

15. Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 32
14. Hugo Keenan (UCD/Leinster) 5
13. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 46
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 29
11. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 87
10. Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster 94 Captain
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 86
1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 103
2. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 15
3. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 31
4. Iain Henderson (Academy/Ulster) 57
5. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 31
6. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 45
7. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 72
8. Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 6


16. Ronan Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster) 5
17. Eric O’Sullivan (Banbridge/Ulster) Uncapped
18. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 22
19. Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 15
20. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 27
21. Jamison Gibson Park ( Leinster) 4
22. Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster) 10
23. Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 13