Craigavon Senior High School retain U16 High Schools’ Trophy

Craigavon Senior High School retain U16 High Schools’ Trophy
Danske Bank Ulster Schools’ U16 High Schools winners, Craigavon Senior High School

Craigavon Senior High School have collected the 2020 Danske Bank Ulster Schools’ U16 High Schools’ Trophy for the second consecutive year, with a 46-12 win over Ballyclare Secondary School at Kingpsan Stadium on Wednesday afternoon.

Both sides opened the game with great intensity, putting in some fierce tackles, but it was Craigavon who broke the deadlock on five minutes, when full-back Jack Coulter found a gap through the Ballyclare defence to cross the line. Toby Gribben’s conversion attempt went just wide.

Craigavon’s fly-half Jamie Hayes created a superb solo try, jinking his way through to score his side’s second. Toby Gribben’s conversion had the help of the crossbar to go over.

Alex Morrison made a thundering run for Craigavon, which led to Jack Coulter scoring his second try of the afternoon to the left of the posts. Gribben was accurate with the boot to add the extras.

Ballyclare enjoyed a good spell of territory, but Craigavon’s speedy back line proved troublesome, with their centre Ciaran Petersen scoring in the right-hand corner. Gribben’s difficult touchline conversion attempt drifted wide.

Undeterred, Ballyclare patiently worked through the phases, driving towards the Craigavon line. It was their captain, Zak Wilson who picked up the ball from the back of a ruck to dart his way over. Wilson coolly slotted over to convert his own score.

Craigavon replied when replacement Jamie Carville made a powerful run to touch down and Gribben added the extras.

Half-time score: Craigavon Senior High School 31 Ballyclare Secondary School 7 

Ballyclare started the second half brightly, their number eight Ashley Doherty punching over to score. Wilson had a tricky kick for the conversion which was just off-target.

On 38 minutes, Craigavon’s Ciaran Peterson got his second score of the afternoon when he broke down the right wing to go over. Gribben didn’t quite have enough distance for the conversion as the ball fell just short.

In the final minutes of play, Craigavon’s Jamie Carville made an incredible solo run from inside his own half, handing off Ballyclare defenders to make his second try of the game. Winger Timmy Martin’s conversion attempt fell short of the posts.

Craigavon finished the game with another excellent try, this time for their captain, Sam Anderson who ran in to the right of the Ballyclare posts. Ciaran Peterson was unable to add the two as his kick drifted wide.

Full-time score: Craigavon Senior High School 46 Ballyclare Secondary School 12


Craigavon Senior High School

15-9: Jack Coulter, Timmy Martin, Ciaran Petersen, Jay Anderson, Daniel Harrison, Jamie Hayes, Toby Gribben.

1-8: Scott McKinney, Sam Anderson (Capt.), Josh Young, Jamie Flanagan, Harry White, Alex Morrison, Jack Dang, Jamie Marshall.

Replacements: Jamie Carville, Glen Montgomery, Joel McClatchey, Drew McCreanor, Adam Ovadia, Andrew Orr, Jamie Donaldson.

Ballyclare Secondary School

15-9: Patrick Gallagher, Samuel Patterson, Chad Morris, Kristian Best, Harley McFarland, Thomas Rea, Zak Wilson (Capt.).

1-8: Graeme Coulter, Jack Duncan, Tom Lindsay, Ewan McKinty, Peter Stewart-McBride, Jack Duncan, Samuel McLean, Ashley Doherty.

Replacements: John Allen, Ciaran Hannon, Benjamin Archbold, Calum Clarke, Dylan McGarry, Robert Pook.