Campbell College Belfast win the Danske Bank Ulster Schools’ Medallion Shield

Campbell College Belfast win the Danske Bank Ulster Schools’ Medallion Shield
Danske Bank Ulster Schools' Medallion Shield winners, Campbell College Belfast

Campbell College Belfast have won the 2020 Danske Bank Ulster Schools’ Medallion Shield, after defeating Royal Belfast Academical Institution by 20-15 in a fantastic game on Tuesday afternoon.

Campbell College had the lion’s share of the territory and were first to put points on the board through Lukas Kenny after sustained pressure from the Campbell side. Jamie MacLean landed the conversion.

RBAI were quick to reply through a Josh Eagleson penalty, narrowing the gap to four points.

On the 28th minute, Campbell’s Jay Davis produced an excellent solo try, chipping the ball over the Inst defence and collecting the loose ball on the bounce over the try line. Jamie MacLean’s tricky touchline conversion effort just brushed off the outside of the left post.

Half-time score: Campbell College Belfast 12 Royal Belfast Academical Institution 3

RBAI looked close to scoring eight minutes into the second half, but excellent Campbell counter-rucking forced a penalty five metres from their line, and Jamie MacLean was able to kick to touch.

Campbell College soon extended their lead through a confident Jamie MacLean penalty from the 22-metre line.

Inst started to find their way back into the game when Rory Ellerby scored after putting together some good phases. Josh Eagleson’s conversion attempt went just to the right of the posts.

Despite a period of Inst possession in the final few minutes of play, it was Campbell who stretched their lead when Matthew Booth stretched out to score in the left-hand corner.

Deep into injury time however, RBAI fought back through captain Jacob Boyd, powering over to the left of the Campbell posts, and Josh Eagleson slotting the conversion.

Inst continued to fight hard in the final phases, but they were unable to snatch victory from the Campbell side, who win the competition for the fourth time in the Shield’s history.

Full-time score: Campbell College Belfast 20 Royal Belfast Academical Institution 15

Campbell College Belfast

15-9: Daniel Graham, Jamie MacLean, Lukas Kenny, Mattthew Booth, Jay Davis, Carson McCullough, Sean Robinson.

1-8: Charlie Kerr, Stephen Gilliam, Robbie Holmes, Charlie McClurg, Daniel Harkin, Joseph Jeffrey, Cameron Faith, Flynn Longstaff (Capt.)

Replacements: Gareth McConnell, Daniel Velasco, Matthew Murphy, Chris Massey, Paddy Lindsay, Jake Daly, Ivan Caughie, Leo Gray.

Royal Belfast Academical Institution

15-9: Flynn Morrow, Callan Johnston, Rory Ellerby, Jack Parkinson, Daniel Hu, Josh Eagleson, James Hillman.

1-8: John Johnston,Jacob Edwards, Jacob Boyd (Capt.), David Larmour, Daniel Moore, Allen Lyons, Callum Simms, Bryn Ward.

Replacements: John Patterson, Zak Pallin, James Henry, Will Kernohan, Jude McCann, Alex Henry, Matthew Armstrong, Dan Kernohan.