Dane named in Ireland Women’s Team to face Wales

Kathryn Dane

The Ireland Women’s Team to play Wales in the second round of the 2020 Women’s Six Nations has been named – with Ulster’s Kathryn Dane again selected to start at Scrum Half.

There are three changes to the opening side who overcame Scotland 18-14 in the first round of the championship last Sunday in Energia Park.

Fit again, Eimear Considine makes her first appearance of the tournament. She is named at full back with Lauren Delaney moving to the wing to partner Beibhinn Parsons.

There is no change to the centre partnership with Michelle Claffey and Sene Naoupu named at 12 and 13 respectively.

Claire Keohane, who won her first International XV cap last week, will make her first start at out-half with Kathryn Dane named at Scrum Half.

There is no change to the front row with Cliodhna Moloney named at hooker and joined by Lindsay Peat and Linda Djougang.

Judy Bobbett, who makes her Six Nations debut, is named in the second row alongsideAoife McDermott.

Captain, Ciara Griffin, Edel McMahon and Anna Caplice complete the pack.

Speaking on the team selection, Coach Adam Griggs said “It was great to start the campaign with a win. We started the game against Scotland well, but we have areas to work on for this weekend.

Wales are a familiar side, we played them in November, and we lost to them in the final minutes of that game. We know how strong they are and where the threats are.

I’ve no doubt they will be looking for a result on Sunday. If we get the small things right, I am confident we can come out on the right side.”

Tickets for Ireland game v Wales are available on Ticketmaster.ie and will be available from the gate on the day.

Ireland Women Team & Replacements (v Wales, Women’s Six Nations Championship 2020, Energia Park, Dublin, Sunday, 8th February, kick-off 1pm)

15- Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian/ Munster)
14 – Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo/ IQ Rugby)
13 – Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
12 – Michelle Claffey (Blackrock/ Leinster)    
11 – Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/ Connacht)
10 – Claire Keohane (Railway Union/ Munster)        
9 – Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/ Ulster)    
1 – Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster) 
2 – Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps/ IQ Rugby)
3 – Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)            
4 – Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/ Leinster)        
5 – Judy Bobbett (Blackrock/ Leinster)         
6 – Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian/ Munster)   Capt.
7 – Edel McMahon (Wasps/ Connacht / IQ Rugby)         
8 – Anna Caplice (Harlequins/ IQ Rugby)    
16 – Victoria Dabanovich O’Mahony (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)             
17 – Laura Feely (Galwegians/ Connacht)    
18 – Anne-Marie O’Hora (Galweigans/ Connacht) 
19 – Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/ Leinster) 
20 – Dorothy Wall (Railway Union/ Munster)         
21 – Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian / Munster)
22 – Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union/ Leinster)        
23 – Aoife Doyle (Railway Union/ Munster)   

Ireland Fixtures and Results, Women’s Six Nations 2020
Sun, 2nd Feb, Ireland Women 18 v 14 Scotland Women
Sun, 9th Feb, Ireland Women v Wales Women, Energia Park, Donnybrook, KO 13.00hrs
Sun, 23rd Feb, England Women v Ireland Women, Castle Park, Doncaster, KO 12.45hrs
Sun, 8th Mar, Ireland Women v Italy Women, Energia Park, Donnybrook, KO 13.00hrs
Sun, 15th Mar, France Women v Ireland Women, Le Stadium, Lille, KO 15.35GMT/16.35 Local Time