Enniskillen win the Millar McCall Wylie Junior Cup

Enniskillen win the Millar McCall Wylie Junior Cup

Enniskillen lifted the Millar McCall Wylie Junior Cup for the first time in the club’s history after a fiercely contested 17-18 win against City of Armagh 2nds at Kingspan Stadium on Tuesday night.

Enniskillen had the first opportunity for points in the fourth minute when City of Armagh conceded a penalty in the scrum. A difficult kick from the 10-metre line for Enniskillen fly-half, John Maguire needed the help of the crossbar to go over.

It didn’t take long for City of Armagh to get on the scoreboard however, through fly-half Harry Boyd levelling the score with a penalty after 8 minutes.

The Co. Fermanagh team took the lead through the boot of John Maguire, slotting over in the 24th minute.

City of Armagh soon responded through Jonathan Agnew, powering his way over at short range after a series of pick-and-goes to score. Fly-half Harry Boyd was on-target in adding the extras.

Half-time score: City of Armagh 2nd XV 10 Enniskillen 6

City of Armagh started to turn the screw in the opening minutes of the second half, with a thundering run from their second rower, Oliver Millar, going over for a fantastic solo try. Harry Boyd was successful in making the difficult touchline conversion.

Enniskillen capitalised on a man advantage while City of Armagh’s Jack Treanor was in the sin bin and reduced the deficit to four points when their centre James Ferguson spotted a gap in Armagh’s defence and dotted down under the posts. Scrum-half Nick Finlay added the two.

Buoyed by their last try, Enniskillen continued to test City of Armagh, forcing penalties and eventually taking the lead through a superb team try, sending winger Angus Keys in to score. Nick Finlay’s difficult conversion attempt went wide.

That single-point lead was enough for Enniskillen to hold on to win the game and the Millar McCall Wylie Junior Cup.

Full-time score: City of Armagh 2nd XV 17 Enniskillen 18

City of Armagh 2nd XV: (15-9) Mervyn Brown, David Agnew, John Faloon (Capt.), Stuart Lester, Glen Faloon, Harry Boyd, Alex Johnston.

(1-8) Eoin O’Hagan, Jack Treanor, Peter Lamb, Stephen Morton, Oliver Millar, Gareth McNiece, Harry Ferguson, James Morton.

Replacements: Andrew Smyth, Aaron Whyte, Ryan Morton, Jonathan Agnew, Luke Crozier.

Enniskillen: (15-9) Mark O’Shea, Angus Keys, James Ferguson, Himi Manuel, Conor Hoy, John Maguire, Nick Finlay.

(1-8) Gavin Warrington, Ryan Cathcart, Gareth Beatty (Capt.), Jamie Kelly, David Buchanan, Jack Rutledge, Jack Harte, James Carleton.

Replacements: Steven Fox, Alan Ferguson, Gavin Parke, Josh Kennedy, Matthew Dane.

Ref: Robbie McGreer