U18 Girls squad named for Inter-Pro Final

U18 Girls squad named for Inter-Pro Final
India Daley in action for Ulster U18 Girls.

The Ulster U18 Girls squad, sponsored by Deloitte, has been named for Saturday’s Interprovincial Series final versus Munster at MU Barnhall RFC (kick-off 2.45pm).

Head Coach Charlie Farrell has made just one change to the starting XV from the side that defeated Connacht 24-22 in last weekend’s nail-biting semi-final, where they came from 12 points down in the final 10 minutes.

The sole change sees Letterkenny’s Mya Alcorn drafted into the Ulster midfield.

The rest of the team remains unchanged and will be led by Virginia’s Ava Fannin, who will be aiming to be the first Ulster captain to lift the Inter-pro cup since the inaugural series in 2016.

The young Ulster girls, who have 13 different clubs represented among the squad, have been in training since May, based at City of Armagh RFC, and will be go into Saturday’s decider with plenty of confidence.

Ulster U18 Girls team to play Munster, Saturday 21st September, 2.45pm at MU Barnhall RFC:

(15-9): Lucy Turkington (Dungannon), Sophie Kinghan (Dundalk), Zara Flack (Enniskillen), Mya Alcorn (Letterkenny), Farrah Cartin McCloskey (Enniskillen), Toni Macartney (Larne), Sarah Shrestha (Dungannon);

(1-8): Ella Garland (Cooke, vice captain), Aoife Cahill (Malone), Ava Fannin (Virginia, captain), Kim Johnston (Dungannon), Taryn Schutzler (Malone), Sophie Barrett (Enniskillen), Erin Carson (Malone), India Daley (Enniskillen).

Replacements: Cara O’Neill (Malone), Hannah Cooney (Malone), Delyth Cook (Ballyclare), Rachel McGee (Ballyshannon), Lauren Kilfedder (Enniskillen), Moya Hill (Enniskillen), Amanda McQuade (Virginia, vice captain), Lucy Thompson (Enniskillen).

Ulster U18 Girls Interprovincial Series Fixtures 2019

Round 1: Munster 12 Ulster 17, Saturday 17th August at Irish Independent Park
Round 2: Ulster 20 Leinster 38, Saturday 24th August at City of Armagh RFC
Round 3: Ulster 19 Connacht 12, Saturday 31st August at Queen’s Sport

Semi-Final: Ulster 24 Connacht 22, Saturday 14th September at St Marys College RFC

Final: Ulster v Munster, Saturday 21st September, 2.45pm at MU Barnhall RFC