Ulster A set for Celtic Cup campaign

Ulster A set for Celtic Cup campaign

The start of Ulster A’s 2019/20 Celtic Cup campaign is fast approaching, and fixture details have been confirmed.

The Celtic Cup will begin for the Ulster men on Saturday 24th August with an away trip to Scarlets. Over the course of seven successive weeks, Ulster A will play the four Welsh regions and the other three Irish provinces. In a change to the 2018 structure, this year’s Celtic Cup is a straight league format with the top two ranked sides advancing to the final on Saturday 12th October.

In last season’s competition, Ulster A lost to eventual finalists Leinster and Scarlets in the opening two rounds, before winning their final four games against Cardiff, Dragons, Ospreys and Connacht. Schoolboy sensation Aaron Sexton, now a full-time member of the Abbey Insurance Ulster Academy, was one the team’s star performers, touching down for seven tries during the campaign.

In preparation for the Celtic Cup, an Ulster U20 / Development team will play two challenge games versus Leinster. The first game will be hosted at Malone RFC on Friday 9th August (5.00pm), followed by a reverse fixture at Energia Park, Donnybrook on Friday 16th August (5.00pm).

Ulster A’s Celtic Cup 2019/20 Fixtures:

Scarlets v Ulster A – Saturday 24th August, 2.30pm at Llandovery RFC
Ulster A v Cardiff – Saturday 31st August, 7.30pm at Malone RFC
Ulster A v Connacht – Friday 6th September, 4.00pm at Ballymena RFC
Leinster v Ulster A – Saturday 14th September, 3.00pm at Energia Park, Donnybrook
Dragons v Ulster A – Saturday 21st September, 2.30pm at Venue TBC
Ulster A v Ospreys – Friday 27th September, 5.00pm at Malone RFC
Ulster A v Munster – Friday 4th October, 5.00pm at Shaw’s Bridge
Celtic Cup Final – Saturday 12th October