Ireland squad named for Italy clash

Ireland squad named for Italy clash

Ulster players Rob Herring, Jordi Murphy (pictured) and Iain Henderson, along with new signing Jack McGrath, have been included in Ireland’s squad to play Italy on Saturday (Aviva Stadium, 2.00pm).

The game is the first of four warm up fixtures to be played by Joe Schmidt’s men in advance of Rugby World Cup 2019 and will be broadcast live on RTE and Channel 4.

McGrath and Herring start in the front row alongside Andrew Porter, with Munster’s Jean Kleyn set to make his international debut in the second row alongside Devin Toner.

Rhys Ruddock will captain the side from the back row, were he is joined by Murphy and Tommy O’Donnell, who won the last of his 12 caps against Scotland in 2016.

Luke McGrath and Joey Carbery fill the half back positions with Chris Farrell and Garry Ringrose named in the centre. Jordan Larmour is at fullback, while Andrew Conway and David Kearney are selected on the wings.

The uncapped Mike Haley is included among the replacements. He is joined by Niall Scannell, Cian Healy, John Ryan, Henderson, Tadhg Beirne, Kieran Marmion and Jack Carty.

Ireland team and replacements to play Italy, Guinness Series 2019, Saturday 10th August, Aviva Stadium (2.00pm):
15. Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College / Leinster) 13 caps
14. Andrew Conway (Garryowen / Munster) 12 caps caps
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD / Leinster) 20 caps
12. Chris Farrell (Young Munster / Munster) 5 caps
11. Dave Kearney (Lansdowne / Leinster) 17
10. Joey Carbery (Clontarf / Munster) 18 caps
9. Luke McGrath (UCD / Leinster) 10 caps
1. Jack McGrath (St. Marys College / Ulster) 54 caps
2. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch / Ulster) 7 caps
3. Andrew Porter (UCD / Leinster) 14 caps
4. Devin Toner (Lansdowne / Leinster) 64 caps
5. Jean Kleyn (Munster) 0 caps
6. Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College / Leinster) 21 caps Captain
7. Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians / Munster) 12 caps
8. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne / Ulster) 27 caps

16. Niall Scannell (Dolphin / Munster) 14 caps
17. Cian Healy (Clontarf / Leinster) 88 caps
18. John Ryan (Cork Constitution / Munster) 18 caps
19. Iain Henderson (Queens University / Ulster) 44 caps
20. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne / Munster) 5 caps
21. Kieran Marmion (Galwegians / Connacht) 25 caps
22. Jack Carty (Buccaneers / Connacht) 3 caps
23. Mike Haley (Munster) 0 caps