Ireland U19 team to play Australia Schools

Ireland U19 team to play Australia Schools

The Ireland U19 team to take on Australia Schools on Saturday has been named (Energia Park, 2.00pm).

Former Campbell College front row John McKee, now playing his rugby with Old Belvedere RFC, will captain the side.

Three more Ulster-born players are in the starting XV, with City of Derry RFC lock Conor McMenamin (pictured), Banbridge RFC number 8 David McCann and Bangor GS winger Aaron Sexton, who has represented the Ulster senior squad, included.

Lewis Finlay of Ballynahinch RFC is among the replacements.

McKee is joined in the front row by Harry Noonan and Charlie Ward, while McMenamin and Paddy Kelly will pack down in the second row. McCann will combine in the back row with Cian Prendergast and Ciaran Booth.

There’s an all Munster pairing in the half backs with Charlie O’Doherty at scrumhalf and Jack Delaney at outhalf.

Hayden Hyde, another IQ Rugby player, and Tommy Downes pair up in midfield, with Sexton, Andrew Smith and Oran McNulty in the back three.

The team is coached by Tom Tierney with Assistant Coaches Mark Butler and Colm Tucker.

IRELAND U19 TEAM TO PLAY AUSTRALIA SCHOOLS (Energia Park, Saturday 8th December, 2.00pm):
15. Oran McNulty (Galwegians / Connacht)
14. Andrew Smith (St. Michael’s College / Leinster)
13. Hayden Hyde (Cranleigh School/Harlequins / IQ RUgby)
12. Tommy Downes (Galwegians / Munster)
11. Aaron Sexton (Bangor Grammar / Ulster)
10. Jack Delaney (Crescent College / Munster)
9. Charlie O’Doherty (Newcastle West / Munster)
1. Harry Noonan (Old Wesley / Leinster)
2. John McKee (Old Belvedere / Leinster) Captain
3. Charlie Ward (Clontarf / Leinster)
4. Conor McMenamin (City of Derry / Ulster)
5. Paddy Kelly (Young Munster / Munster)
6. Cian Prendergast (Newbridge College / Leinster)
7. Ciaran Booth (IQ Rugby / Sale Sharks)
8. David McCann (Banbridge / Ulster)

16. Scott Buckley (CBC Cork / Munster)
17. Aaron Hennessy (UL / Munster)
18. Liam Winnett (Buccaneers / Connacht)
19. Brian Deeney (Clontarf / Leinster)
20. Sean O’Brien (Blackrock College / Leinster)
21. Lewis Finlay (Ballynahinch / Ulster)
22. Dylan Prendergast (Ballina / Connacht)
23. Louis Bruce (PBC / Munster)